Q&A Forums

What to do with attic? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Michael Mccullough
Posted: Sep 09, 2015 02:33 AM
What to do with attic?
I recently got into spray foam insulation and have some question.
I also do radiant barriers in attics. Main question is would spraying the roofline of an attic or spray the floor of the attic and putting proper venting and a radiant barrier be more effienct. I'm lost on why the roofline gets the foam instead of the ceiling? Also I've heard that there are shingle companies not warranting their product because spray foam heats the shingles. Has anybody had this happen? Last question, I've got a graco fusion air purge gun and was wondering what mixing chamber you guys use with 2.0 closed to get a really nice looking job on foam that will show. Also what mixing chamber for open cell. Thanks.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Sep 09, 2015 09:33 AM
Hi Michael,
I too have jumped on the radiant barrier band wagon only because it works and it makes total sense. The first mode of heat transfer is radiant heat transfer. Only then you get conduction and convection occurring. So, I'm in total agreement with your use of a radiant barrier and allowing the roof to vent where ever possible. I just built a barn and I used Low-E reflective insulation on the underside of the roof, applied another layer of Low-E reflective insulation under the 2x4 top chords of the trusses which leaves about a 3" air space allowing the heated air to escape. The I sprayed 6-8" of open cell to the underside of the Low-E. The place is awesome and it can be heated almost with a candle.