Q&A Forums

thermal efficiency per inch of open cell Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
paul rogers
Posted: Jan 09, 2011 06:28 PM
thermal efficiency per inch of open cell
What is the thermal efficiency of open cell foam?

closed cell: 78% thermal efficiency 1" for heat loss

1" 78% closed cell
2" 88% closed cell
3" 92% closed cell

I am not finding any info on open cell thermal efficiency.

Thanks
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jan 09, 2011 09:08 PM
The 2006 SPFA conference had a presentation by Roger Morrison who presented that 1" of CC/ 1.91" of OC foam blocks 91.3% of heat transfer. It also shows that 2" CC/ 3.5" OC blocks over 95% of theThere was a chart and graph attached to the presentation that broke it down into the % of heat blocked. I heat transfered to it. I can't say it's perfect, but it's better than nothing. I'll look for it and I'd be happy to send it to you when I find the presentaion article.
Jim
Bill Clark
Posted: Jan 19, 2011 04:40 PM
Razor Back - Remember that while these % of heat blocked numbers look good, they do not take into account "thermal saturation" over time.

Such thin amounts of spray foam will become heat saturated over time and then allow significantly more heat to flow through them.

Spray Foam, regardless of OC or CC, needs to be thick enough to stop the flow of heat during the daily heat cycle...

If you have a "Dare to Compare" box for home show purposes, set it up and let it run for hours, somewhere after 5-6 hours, depending on the ambient temperature, you will start to get a much greater transfer of heat through the spray foam.

Spray Foam does a great job don't take this wrong, BUT you have to install enough foam to do the job correctly.