Q&A Forums

radiant floor heating Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Matt Kenner
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 10:22 AM
radiant floor heating
A customer is having radiant floor heating installed on the crawl space ceiling. He wants spf applied after the radiant is installed. Would I have to cover the pipes with some rigid foam before applying spf (leaving a 1-2" air gap)? How would you handle this scenario? This is my first time dealing with a radiant floor heating system.
mason
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 11:22 AM
The SPFA just concluded a year long study on the use of sprayfoam over cPVC pipe and concluded that either open or closed cell foam poses no problems when sprayed directly onto the pipe. However I would spray the foam in 1/2 inch lift on the pipe first, then let it set for a few minutes to let the heat dissipate. Then you should be able to bring it up to the thickness desired without affecting the pipe.
mason
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 11:29 AM
By the way, so long as the pipes do not exceed 200 degrees in temperature, the foam should be OK. If the pipes exceeded that temperature you would want to stay off the pipes at least 3 inches.
Matt Kenner
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 11:35 AM
Thanks Mason.
Grady Littlehale
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 04:56 PM
I use 1.5" board stock cut to joist width and 1.5" cc to seal it with. I did leave a 2" airspace that you need with radiant heat. Works great.
Circle-D
Posted: Dec 14, 2009 10:08 PM
Mason,
If you don't cover the it with something, won't the foam expand completely around the tubing and insulate it FROM the floor your trying to heat? Just my thoughts....Skip
mason
Posted: Dec 15, 2009 08:37 AM
Circle D, good point. I like the idea of using board stock over the pipes then insulate with foam.
Matt Kenner
Posted: Dec 15, 2009 10:33 AM