Q&A Forums

open vs closed cell Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Terry Adams
Posted: Jan 27, 2011 09:07 PM
open vs closed cell
I sprayed 6" of open cell between the 1st and 2nd floor(new construction) for sound abatement and now have to re-spray because the plumbing on the second floor had a slow leak that did not appear for weeks. It was under a sink and was only discovered because of wood flooring warping in the bedroom. Water seeped down the plumbing penetrations and wet 400sqft of foam but never dripped a drop on the sheetrock ceiling below. Imagine what might happen if you wrap over the rafters with open cell then add IC coating and get a leak in the roof. Anybody tested or experienced this scenario?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jan 27, 2011 09:56 PM
Now, let's imagine if it was closed cell and you sprayed the entire underside of the roof deck! Now, that would be worse! At least the open cell would ultimately show itself and allow for you or another contractor to address the issue. I'm surprised at the amount of square footage this covered without dripping through the wood rafters? It seems like we're missing some of the factors involved to understand it completely?
Thanks,
Jim
SprayFoamSupply.com
Posted: Jan 27, 2011 09:58 PM
I am surprised that the water did not leak down onto the drywall below. How much of the ceiling foam was wet? It couldn't have wet all 400ft. Was there poly over the foam?

George
Terry Adams
Posted: Jan 27, 2011 10:07 PM