Q&A Forums

Open Cell Shrinkage Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Tom Bacon
Posted: Jan 18, 2012 11:27 AM
Open Cell Shrinkage
Hello Mason and all other applicators, I am currently having an issue with shrinkage and need advice.Product is Demilec Selection 500, temps are 130 A,125 B, Line 120, Air is 1250. Problem is once sprayed the material literally shrinks, losing a inch to a inch and a half of expansion. Substrate is plywood. Any ideas on the shrinkage issue?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jan 18, 2012 11:41 AM
It sounds like it's a blockage in the gun. Over 95% of the time it's a gun issue with it not mixing properly.
Tom Bacon
Posted: Jan 18, 2012 11:44 AM
As far as the foam cells they are almost perfect, that is why i ruled out it being mechanical, as far as the gun is concerned.
Tom Bacon
Posted: Jan 18, 2012 11:58 AM
Spray pattern is near perfect, spraying with a 2929. started off with no issues and dropped the temps due to the time of day, 78 at that current time I beleive.
mason
Posted: Jan 18, 2012 02:40 PM
Contact Demilec and talk to their technical rep. Provide him with all details of the work, climate, substrate temperatures, moisture content, humidity, pressure\temperature of the euipment, type of proportioner, spraygun, and spraygun configuration (mixing module, chamber, pcd, etc.)

Things that cause foam to shrink
poor mix,
cold substrate
moisture on substrate
B side not agitated
moisture in your b side from condensation
moisture in you airline from condensation in your drum
old material
cold material.
off spec foam