Q&A Forums

OC foam in attic, did I miss Something How is this guy getting away with this? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Aug 03, 2010 11:35 AM
OC foam in attic, did I miss Something How is this guy getting away with this?
So I'm here in Indiana, I am fairly new to the game compared to you guys, but I have been a builder for many years, I spent almost a year researching and going to 3 different foam "schools" (and countless hours on here) before I pulled the trigger on some nice hydraulic equipment, I use 2 lb CC foam With the ICC rating, I have been sold on the CC product for a while now. Well this week I am at a local event promoting my product and company. In comes an Newer than me Spray foam guy he is shooting and promoting the use of Open Cell foam in the attics UNCOVERED no coating, also he is quoting and promoting this oc foam in the attic at 6" depth or just covering a 2X6 is perfectly fine and a great product. How the Hell is this Code Compliant? His literature states a 3.5" fill at a R-13, So given the benefit of a doubt and say it all gets a 7" average fill to cover the 2X6 that's still a R26. I was under the impression All attic insulation had to be at least a code minim of R-38. he swears he has had inspections and never had a issue passing??? Plus it is UNCOVERED no coating, Again I was under the understanding All open cell foam had to be covered in a attic. Thanks for all input
mason
Posted: Aug 03, 2010 02:42 PM
Folks frequently can get code officials to approve items that do not specifically meet the code. I would contact the code official in your area and try to educate him or her in the specific portions of the code that pertain to SPF applications. Then it is up to your competitor to demonstrate that he is complying with the code using an approved alternate method that is at an equal or better based on diversified testing (such as would be identified on a currently dated ICC Evaluation Report)
Posted: Aug 04, 2010 08:54 AM