Q&A Forums

New and need some help Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Loren Edwards
Posted: Nov 21, 2012 11:24 PM
New and need some help
I am new to the foam business I have been up and running about a month. Its been a real learning curve. I purchased a slightly used PMC set up with 40kw gen set. It was used by the first owner for doing mobile Urea coatings. My main focus of business is insulating metal buildings. I have a bunch of friends that assy the buildings so I have a foot in with the customers. We are using a 2lb close cell on the buildings. We are trying to get a smooth coat for a nice appearance. We are doing a decent job on the walls, but the ceilings are giving us some trouble. We applying 1" using a Gama AP1 gun with 01 tip. It takes us 4 or 5 coats to get an 1" which is killing us on time. I was curious what you experienced guys would recommend on tip size and application methods to get better results. I know the AP1 is an older style gun but we have a pile of spare parts for it and hate to start all over with the spares. I did demo the AP2 last week.. It was light and easy to use but the spray pattern wasn't to my liking. I know they have alternate tips to change out but I didnt have any to swap out.

My trainer 2 weeks ago was pushing me to the AP2 now he is pushing me to the P2 which I havent found much info on. I have had conflicting info from him and unsure I trust his recommendations.

My next question what the hell do you use to clean the foam off the gun. I have used Acetone, NMP which works ok but it eats thru every glove I have tried. I got a solvent from another company that he claimed was great and its less effective than acetone and at 175.00 per gallon isn't sitting well with me.
Any suggestions on what to use?
Cory Boehs
Posted: Nov 22, 2012 01:04 PM