Q&A Forums

Maximun thickness Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Jun 19, 2006 10:57 AM
Maximun thickness
I am a builder in NYS, & have used closed cell insulation with great success. I am now close to releasing the contract for a new closed cell job when I was told that the particular product could not be sprayed more than 3” thick, another 4”. I have a conditioned attic & was planning to spray the underside of the roof at 6” as I need R-38 according to my plans. Now that I have read NYS Residential Code in detail, which stated that, all insulations must have ASTM E-84 rating. I’ve read several foam manufactures specification sheets & most have maximum tested thickness to meet ASTM E-84. I have spoken to 2-3 Manufacturer representatives with most stating that they cannot condone or recommend spraying more then the maximum tested. What’s the deal with the maximum thickness? How is anyone getting to R-30 & above?
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Jun 19, 2006 06:53 PM
The new 245fa blowing agent is the enemy.

The concern is that spraying greater thicknesses will cause excessive heat build-up within the foam and lead to internal charring.

Worst case scenario is where a house allegedly caught on fire from this. This is of course, an abstract example, not the norm.

You might check some of the alternative foams for maximum one-pass application thickness. Apex 1.2 for instance, and NAP 1.6.

Or, just spray in two passes.

hope that helps,

gcw
Melvin Chandler
Posted: Jun 19, 2006 10:31 PM
Why not go open cell? One or more manufacturers has the approval to spray 5.5 under the deck per ICC, Boca, and others.

Should the builder really be concerned with R-value? According to the R-myth or one of the other stories about foam, it was said that there is no real advantage for spraying more than 5" of foam.

I am Newby and I am still learning.
Posted: Jun 20, 2006 10:22 AM