Q&A Forums

ISO sensitivity Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Alan Fagerstrom
Posted: Jan 20, 2010 03:31 PM
ISO sensitivity
I'm iso sensitive. We are installers. Why to most foam manufacturers downplay this issue? The health industry does not know what to do to help in emergencies. I've had some personal experience, do you guys know more?
Michael Fusco
Posted: Feb 03, 2010 09:52 AM
I to, am ISO sensitive.
The problem with the health industry is not the manufacturers fault, its that they do not recognize sensitivity for what it is.

You present with difficulty breathing, and that's what they are going to treat. They wont get to CDC until they have a handle on respirations. Been there...done that.....they wont listen, they dont recognize. You almost need to advocate for yourself and diagnose for them.
Posted: Feb 03, 2010 11:23 AM
The manufacturers need to advise that iso sensitivity may become an issue. My experience is that they do not wish to help or understand the problem. And they probably will not change this position til they loose their business in a law suit.
Secondly, my sensitivity is so bad that I went to the emergency room. Family & friends told me to get out of the business. I told them I just needed to figure out how to get it done without me being there. Respitory equipment and suits are not enought for me now.
The ER went to the CDC, found nothing other than whats on the MSDS sheets. They insisted on treating me as if I had the flu because the sypmtoms are very similar. The biggest help was getting oxygen. The most recent problem my doctor advised me that the er was not the place to go and ordered a respiratory pill that really helped.
What are we to do if an employee or customer is ISO sensitive?
Bryan Kwater
Posted: Feb 04, 2010 11:49 AM