Q&A Forums

Fiberglass Insulation Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Nov 07, 2006 03:34 PM
Fiberglass Insulation
I am fairly new to the insulation business and while we have been successful on some of our bids for spray foam insulation, several potential customers can't seem to justify the extra cost of the foam insulation. My question is do any of you also offer batt insulation, and if so what are the rates in your areas? I'm well aware that foam is by far the best way to go, but I hate to lose out on potential income if I can't convince customers of this, especially being a new company with limited referals as of now.
Jeffery Dieu
Posted: Nov 07, 2006 04:28 PM
Most of the problem we are getting is with people and cellulose. The cellulose industry has a spokesman Doug Rye and he really is pushing it over the cost of using foam. The way I see it, why would you want to work for little money. I say focus on pushing foam and let someone else put the cheap stuff in. You get what you pay for whether it be automobiles, tools, toilet paper, and even insulatiion.
Posted: Nov 07, 2006 07:59 PM
premium product, premium price,premium results. get the utility bills of your past jobs.(several different projects) especially the ones where you put 3.5 in the walls and 5.5 in the roof deck!(and you caulked the windows)
everybody knows what they pay for gas/electric to heat & cool.
this will get their attention!
$32.00 more per month for mortgage payment (TO UPGRADE TO FOAM OVER FIBERGLASS)
$100-150 OR MORE SAVINGS PER MONTH TO HEAT &COOL. (EVEN MORE WITH ADDITIONAL FOAM:OUTSIDE THE BASEMENT WALLS,UNDER BASEMENT FLOOR, AND SO ON)

FOCUS ON VALUE

HIGHER RESALE VALUE OF HOUSE/DOUBLE THE RACKING STRENGTH IN THE WALLS/CEILING.VAPOR BARRIER>2" OR MORE.

YES FIBERGLASS COSTS LESS. AND AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN IT COSTS YOU MORE! EVERY MONTH!
Posted: Nov 07, 2006 10:16 PM