Q&A Forums

Fall Protection Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Jeri Devlin
Posted: Jun 29, 2011 02:54 PM
Fall Protection
With OSHA rescinding the interim fall protection standard that allowed exceptions to conventional fall protection on residential jobsites, I am wondering if contractors are seeing or hearing of increased OSHA activity at residential sites and whether OSHA is citing applicators if not using conventional fall protection in attics.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jun 29, 2011 05:16 PM
So, OSHA's job is to enforce the laws - no matter how rediculous they are. And that means that the earn money by writing fines. The state budget is hurting, the fed budget isn't much better and how do you expect them to be able to make up this difference?

I've heard they've been around our area a couple of times on a couple of job sites, but haven't had the unlucky chance to meet them and I'm not complaining.
mason
Posted: Jun 29, 2011 06:25 PM
OSHA is the only federal agency whose budget was not cut. They added hundreds of additional inspectors. The SPF residential insulation industry is on their hit list. (OSHA cannot police every industry, so they have a list of industries that they target every few years). The SPF industry is at the top of their list right now.

So, be prepared, make sure you not only have the right equipment and procedures, but that you also have all the written documentation required, such as written safety program for your company and for each job, fire safety program, respirator program, haz mat program, document your safety training, and show that you have enforced compliance by disciplinary action of employees when needed.