Q&A Forums

condesation Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
larry kritsch
Posted: Nov 18, 2010 10:46 AM
condesation
Met with a group of architects yesterday & answered all their questions with the exception of one.In conditioned attic spaces of existing homes (new construction as well) is it possible for condensation to form between the underneath of the roof & the spf which is sprayed to it?If so what is the solution?They were talking ridge vents at the peak of the roof,somehow forming a gap between the roof and foam & then bring air up from the soffit vents in the eves.I'm located in California where temps range the 100's in the summer to maybe a month of high thirtys to fortys in the winter.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Nov 18, 2010 08:59 PM
Yes, this can happen when the foam isn't applied directly to the roof deck. The airspace can allow for condensation to occur. But if you are spraying directly to the roofdeck, then it shoudn't be a problem and I've sprayed many of them with open cell foam.

We've had the same request from some architects and builders who just felt more comfortable and we use a product called Low-E reflctive insulaion to create baffles which will allow the air to pass from the soffits to the ridge. It's also flexible and conforms easily to the different angles. Just staple it up and spray away!
Hope this helps!

Jim
larry kritsch
Posted: Nov 19, 2010 09:09 AM
Thank you Jim for the reply.
John Shockney
Posted: Nov 19, 2010 09:49 AM
The only problem that I have with adding these baffles, is the studies show that these air passages can bring in more moisture than they vent out causing more problems than they prevent.

I would not install such venting unless the architect was signing off on the system!!