Q&A Forums

Closed Cell vs Open Cell Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Jan 02, 2007 09:09 PM
Closed Cell vs Open Cell
I'm pretty new to this spray foam but I can't seam to find any reason to spray open cell foam in the res. market. Am I missing something? R-value per inch, structural advantage, air seal, less clean-up, Any thoughts would be great.
Dave Strnad
Posted: Jan 03, 2007 06:25 AM
Well you are right, however the issue is cost. I just started spraying the other blends to compete locally. I'm not sure about costs in other areas, but here to use closed cell it typically is double the cost of cellulose. I can spray equivilant open cell for 30% less than closed. This allows me to get the foot in the door so to speak with people that have not considered spf. I try to sell the closed, but I will take the open if I can get it. I have two types of customers, the one that knows exactly what they want and the ones that haven't thought about it but like the idea of SPF. For me the customer that calls me and wants a bid for X of inches, is usually after closed cell. The customers that I approach will usually go with the open cell. It could be that I'm not a very good salesman.lol. Some people want the best and others want something close that costs less.
Posted: Jan 03, 2007 09:25 AM
Someone please correct. Half pound foam is not water resistant and appears to absorb water. If this is true why would anyone ever put half pound foam into a building structure?

Leon
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Jan 03, 2007 06:20 PM
Closed cell is superior to open cell in several aspects.

regarding foam insulation, we need to help people understand the difference between price & cost.

One singular advantage of open cell is filling in the underside of deck flutes. The aggressive expansion allows greater coverage with less material.

A notable disadvantage is the ability of open-cell to absorb water. I predict that our industry may experience some issues in this area eventually.