Q&A Forums

Can I implement this wall/ceiling system? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
drew renshaw
Posted: Aug 25, 2010 08:48 AM
Can I implement this wall/ceiling system?
I am a home builder in Memphis, TN; Mixed/humid. I am looking to pull ahead of the pack with regards to house performance. I am able to get very good pricing on 2 inch thick Polyiso boards and would like to design a system for my climate using them and spray foam. Due to cost concerns I cannot afford to spray more than a half to one inch flash coat. My thoughts on an affordable insulation system are these:

Walls - 2x4 walls with required half inch waferboard sheathing on entire structure, covered by my 2 inch polyiso, inside a flashcoat of spray and batt R-11 to save money.

Ceilings - 2x8 joists with 2 inch polyiso attached to ceiling and covered by sheetrock, then blow cellulose on top for whatever depth r value I desire.

Would this work, perform well, and not have any moisture problems?
Should I consider flashcoating the ceiling after I install the polyiso boards on the ceiling and then blowing or would that be too tight?
Should I be worried about sandwiching the waferboard with 2 types of foam insulation?
mason
Posted: Aug 25, 2010 11:18 AM
I can see some challenges with your prospective design. 2 inches of polysio board on the outside of your sheathing will provide good insulation and stop thermal bridging, but it may be difficult to cut in around your doors and windows with that much insulation on the outside. You would not want to use a foil backed polyiso board on the side that faces the interior of the building.