Q&A Forums

Air pockets in my spf walls and under roof decking!!! Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Laura
Posted: Jan 21, 2018 06:41 PM
Air pockets in my spf walls and under roof decking!!!
Just installed open cell in my exterior walls and under roof decking. I was about to hand drywall when I another spf contractor noted it was a terrible installation and we found huge voids b/t every stud and the rafters. It looks like cavity is full but when you push into it there is only about 1" on the surface and air behind it. What happened and what do I do? In the attic when you push your hand into the foam there are air pockets and you can feel the heat trapped in the void on the underside of the decking. What can be done? I am loosing sleep and extremely stressed about the situation!!! The spf contractor and the Thermoseal rep plan to meet next week. I really appreciate any advice you may have for me. Thank you!!!
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jan 21, 2018 08:59 PM
What climate zone are you in? Were you or the contractor using kerosene jet heater to attempt to heat the area up? What were the temperatures of the walls before and during install?

With the colder temperatures across most of our nation, I suspect the substrate was not of adequate temperature and it caused condensation on the inside of the wall which caused excessive water for the foam to react to! This can cause the foam to leave pockets behind what appears to be well installed foam.