Q&A Forums

6.7 lb foam Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Oct 17, 2011 11:17 PM
6.7 lb foam
I am just getting started in this business and have a question. I am about to give an estimate on some poultry houses and i need to know how many bd ft the 6. 7 lb foam will cover. To the best of my understanding it is only to be sprayed 1 inch thick.
mason
Posted: Oct 18, 2011 12:30 PM
I think you have the density mixed up. To my knowledge no one currently makes a 6 lb density sprayfoam. It would have the strength and insulative value of wood. I have sprayed a 6 lb foam 35 years ago that was manufactured by a local supplier in Houston. Yield is horrible. We thought it might be used to reinforce structural components of houses and buildings, but it was far too brittle.
Lynn Mether
Posted: Oct 19, 2011 11:26 AM
Does this happen to be a ag-seal or ag-tite product?
Posted: Oct 20, 2011 02:24 PM
Yes it is Ag Seal or AgriThane
mason
Posted: Oct 25, 2011 05:22 PM
I went to the websites of Ag Seal and Ag Tite. I did not find data sheets on the material. But you can do the calculations. 6.7 lb density foam would theoretically cover 6.7 lbs per cubic foot of foam. One cubic foot equals 12 board feet. So the free rise foam would require 6.7 lbs to cover 12 square feet at one inch thick. It will spray in place at a higher density, so add at least 20% then add another 15-50% depending on how uniform you can spray it. 10-15%% if you can spray within 1/4 inch and 40 - 50% if you can only spray within a half inch tolerance.

So if you can get the best uniformity, figure about 8.5 to 9 lbs per cubic foot or .7 to .8 lbs per foot.

Anyone who has sprayed this, please chime in with your experience.
Roger Morrison
Posted: Oct 26, 2011 06:20 AM
I think you may be confusing density with R-value. The "Agrithane" that I am familiar with has a density of 2 lb/cuft with an R-value around 6.7.
Posted: Oct 26, 2011 08:07 AM